Toggle mobile menu visibility

Ward maps

Maps of wards and administrative geographies in Swansea.

Wales is currently made up of 22 unitary or local authorities, which in turn are divided into electoral wards and communities.  Electoral wards are the key building blocks of local administrative geography in Wales, and the units used to elect local government councillors. 

This page includes an  overall map (PDF) [4MB] of the City and County of Swansea area and individual maps of each of Swansea's 32 electoral wards - available to view via the Downloads section below.  The maps on this page reflect the current wards in Swansea.

The ward boundaries in Swansea changed following the latest Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales review and Local Government Elections on 5 May 2022.  In summary, the changes related to the following areas:

  • Gower and Pennard - boundary change
  • 'Mumbles' (new ward combining former Newton and Oystermouth wards) and West Cross / Mumbles boundary change
  • 'Dunvant and Killay' (new ward combining three former wards - Dunvant, Killay North, Killay South)
  • Cockett (changed) and 'Waunarlwydd' (new ward)
  • 'Llwchwr' (new ward combining three former wards - Kingsbridge, Lower Loughor, Upper Loughor)
  • 'Gorseinon and Penyrheol' - combining two former wards
  • north area - changes to Clydach, Llangyfelach and Pontarddulais wards (incorporating former Mawr ward) and new 'Pontlliw and Tircoed' ward
  • city / south east area - changes to Castle and St Thomas wards and new 'Waterfront' ward.

Our ward profiles are also available. These bring together a range of key statistics, maps and other information about all of the electoral wards in Swansea.

Other administrative geographies

Parliamentary Constituencies are the areas used to elect Members of Parliament (MPs) to the UK Parliament in London, and Members of the Senedd (MS) to the Senedd (Welsh Parliament) in Cardiff.  At the last General Election, there were 650 UK constituencies, 40 of which are in Wales.  Within the Swansea city and county area currently are three constituency areas, and individual area maps of  Gower (PDF) [1MB] Swansea East (PDF) [3MB] and  Swansea West (PDF) [3MB] are available.  However, the constituency areas are currently subject to review by the Boundary Commission for Wales.

The smallest type of administrative areas in Wales are the Communities - the equivalent of parishes in England. Community councils or town councils operate across Wales. There are 39 defined community areas in Swansea, of which 24 are currently active as councils - mostly outside the main urban area.  An overall map of these areas in Swansea, and a series of individual maps, is available here.

If you require any further information or advice on local geography or area boundaries, please contact us.

The use of Ordnance Survey data within the documents on this web page is subject to terms and conditions.

Close Choose Language