Search site
Cymraeg

Sending Secure Emails

To ensure data is not intercepted when sending emails externally, the Council have been working with other public sector organisations to introduce a secure email service.

Email is a primary communication tool and a key enabler for exchanging data. It allows collaborative working and faster/more intelligent responses to citizens needs. However, emails can sometimes contain personal and sensitive data which could result in reputational and financial damage to the Council if lost.

In a world where we want to handle data responsibly and meet GDPR needs, and with the current GCSx services ending soon, a new method of email security and assurance has been developed.

UK government have issued a directive that states:

If you currently use a gsi-family domain name (gsi.gov.uk, gse.gov.uk, gcsx.gov.uk or gsx.gov.uk) you must replace it with a government domain like gov.uk, gov.scot, llyw.cymru or gov.wales by March 2019 using TLS 1.2 or later. Further details here: https://www.gov.uk/guidance/securing-government-email

Working Together - New TLS secured email

Each organization below has implemented the latest Transport Layer Security (TLS) method so emails can be sent securely using encryption.

TLS is a protocol which provides privacy between communicating services. When a Swansea server and client communicate, well-configured TLS ensures that no third party can eavesdrop or tamper with any message.

Basically, staff can send emails to anyone at these organisations (using their name and the domain addresses shown below in bold) knowing they will be secure and free from interception. You don't need to have a GCSx email account or type the word "ENCRYPT:" in the subject heading of an email anymore to send emails encrypted.

So for example, if you were sending an email to Barbara Davies in Cardiff Council, her email address will have to have the domain name at the end of the email for the TLS method to work as shown: Barbara.davies@cardiff.gov.uk

OrganisationsDomain
adoptcymru@adoptcymru.com
Blaenau Gwent County Borough Council@blaenau-gwent.gov.uk
Bridgend County Borough Council@bridgend.gov.uk
Caerphilly County Borough Council@caerphilly.gov.uk or @caerffili.gov.uk
Cardiff Council@cardiff.gov.uk or @caerdydd.gov.uk
Cardiff Credit Union@cardiffcreditunion.co.uk
Carmarthenshire County Council@carmarthenshire.gov.uk or @sigar.gov.uk
Central South Consortium Joint Education Service@cscjes.org.uk
Ceredigion County Council@ceredigion.gov.uk or @ceredigion.llwy.cymru
Conwy County Borough Council@conwy.gov.uk
Court of Protection Enquiries@justice.gov.uk
Denbighshire County Council@denbighshire.gov.uk or @sirddinbych.gov.uk
Department of Works and Pensions@dwp.gsi.gov.uk
Flintshire County Council@flintshire.gov.uk or @siryfflint.gov.uk
Flintshire Fostering@flintshirefostering.org.uk
Gwynedd Council@gwynedd.gov.uk or @gwynedd.llyw.cymru
Home Office@homeoffice.gov.uk or @homeoffice.x.gsi.gov.uk
Isle of Anglesey County Council@anglesey.gov.uk or @ynysmon.gov.uk
Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council@merthyr.gov.uk
Monmouthshire County Council@monmouthshire.gov.uk
Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council@neath-porttalbot.gov.uk or npt.gov.uk
Newport City Council@newport.gov.uk
Pembrokeshire County Council@pembrokeshire.gov.uk
Pembrokeshire Coast@pembrokeshirecoast.org.uk
Powys County Council@powys.gov.uk
Prison Service@hmps.gsi.gov.uk
Probation Service@probation.gsi.gov.uk
Public Guardian@publicguardian.gov.uk
Rent Officer Referrals@wales.gov.uk or @wales.gsi.gov.uk
Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council@rhondda-cynon-taf.gov.uk or rctcbc.gov.uk
Rhondda Cynon Taf Pensions@rctpensions.org.uk
Shared Resource Service Wales@srswales.com
Torfaen County Borough Council@torfaen.gov.uk
Vale of Glamorgan Council@valeofglamorgan.gov.uk or bromorgannwg.gov.uk
Warwickshire County Council@warwickshire.gov.uk
Welsh Assembly@assembly.wales or @senedd.cymru
Welsh Government@gov.wales or @llyw.cymru
Welsh Revenue Authority@wra.gov.wales
Western Bay Adoption@westernbayadoption.org
WLGA@wlga.gov.uk
Working links Secure@workinglinkssecure.co.uk
Wrexham County Borough Council@wrexham.gov.uk or @wrecsam.gov.uk
  
Police 
Dyfed Powys Police@dyfed-powys.pnn.police.uk
Gwent Police@gwent.pnn.police.uk
North Wales Police@nthwales.pnn.police.uk
South Wales Police@south-wales.pnn.police.uk
  
Education 
Gower College@gowercollegeswansea.ac.uk
Swansea University@swansea.ac.uk
Hwb@Hwbcymru.net or @Hwbmail.net
Swansea Edunet@swansea.edunet.gov.uk
  
Fire 
Mid & West Wales Fire Service@mawwfire.gov.uk​​​​​
South Wales Fire Service@southwales-fire.gov.uk
  
NHS 
Wales Nhs@wales.nhs.uk
   
National Parks 
Brecon Beacons National Park@beacons-npa.gov.uk
Pembrokeshire Coast National Park@pembrokeshirecoast.org.uk

 

Powered by GOSS iCM