Search site

About the UK Parliamentary general election 2019

The UK Parliament represents the people of the United Kingdom. It makes decisions and passes laws on a wide range of issues that affect you.

The UK Parliament is made up of two 'Houses' - the House of Commons and the House of Lords.

The House of Commons has 650 Members of Parliament (MPs). Each MP represents a part of the UK called a 'constituency' or 'seat'. MPs debate the big political issues of the day and proposals for new laws.

The House of Lords has over 700 unelected members who scrutinise the work of the House of Commons. 

How is it elected?

The UK Parliament is elected at the UK general election. 

A general election must take place once every five years. The Prime Minister decides on the exact date of the election, but it traditionally be held on a Thursday.

At a general election you have one vote to choose a candidate to represent your constituency in the House of Commons. 

Most candidates are from a political party but there can also be independent candidates. 

After a general election, the leader of the party with the most MPs is asked by the Queen to become Prime Minister and to form a government that will run the country. 

Powered by GOSS iCM