Search site

Pupils win award for their film about hopes for Wales

Four pupils at a Swansea School have won a national award for a film they made about their hopes and dreams for the future of Wales.


Ffion Thomas, Anwen Morgan, Jack Thomas and Toby Porter from Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Bryn Tawe won this year's Morgan Parry Foundation Award.

It was set -up to remember Mr Parry, who was a leading figure in the environmental movement in Wales for more than 30 years before his death in 2014.

This year the foundation challenged youngsters to create a short film on the topic 'The Wales We Want'.

The Year 8 Bryn Tawe pupils highlighted a nation that protects the environment, lives healthily, extends a hand to help others, continues to protect our culture and a nation that achieves the goal of securing a million Welsh speakers by the year 2050.

The youngsters were presented with their prize by former Welsh Government Minister for the Environment and Sustainability Jane Davidson, who is chair of the foundation.

Bryn Tawe head teacher Simon Davies said: "It was a pleasure to welcome Jane Davidson to present the award to the group. Year 8 gathered together to enjoy the video and congratulate the four of them for creating an entertaining and comprehensive film."

Powered by GOSS iCM