Search site

Three primary schools on shortlist for sports awards honour

Three schools are in the running for the Primary School Team of the Year honour at the Swansea Sports Awards.

Swansea Sports Awards 2016

Members of the Craigfelen girls football team, Pontlliw boys football team and Bishopston rugby team will find out who's won the 2016 accolade in a ceremony at the city's Brangwyn Hall on Thursday March 16.

The Craigfelen girls football team only lost one match during the 2015/2016 school year, also winning the Swansea Schools FA Final. Featuring an exciting, free-flowing style of play, Bishopston's rugby team won three tournaments in 2016 - the Gower Trophy, the Ray Beech Cup and the Gower Festival Cup.

Also in 2015/2016, the Pontlliw boys football team were crowned Swansea Schools champions, reaching the semi-finals of a Premier League under 11s tournament as well.

Swansea Council's sport and health team is behind the Swansea Sports Awards, which have been recognising local sporting achievement for 14 years.

Other categories include Volunteer of the Year, Community Coach of the Year and Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year. 

Visit to see all the categories and shortlists. Tickets for the awards evening can also be purchased on the website.

Cllr Mark Child, Swansea Council's Cabinet Member for Healthy City and Wellbeing, said: "The annual Swansea Sports Awards is a fantastic evening where Swansea's sporting community comes together to celebrate the last 12 months. As well as our elite sportspeople and sports teams, the event also gives the opportunity to thank coaches and volunteers whose contributions may otherwise go unnoticed.

"The Primary School Team of the Year is one of many categories that aim to ensure anyone deemed worthy of recognition is rewarded for their commitment and achievements.

"Tickets are still available for the event, so I'd encourage anyone interested to head to the sports awards website and make a purchase."

Other categories include Secondary School of the Year, Young Volunteer of the Year and Junior Sportswoman of the Year.

Powered by GOSS iCM