Search site

Nominations open for the 2016 Swansea Sports Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2016 Swansea Sports Awards.

Dan Biggar

A number of categories form part of the awards, including Volunteer of the Year, Community Coach of the Year, Senior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year and Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year.

Swansea Council's Sport and Health Team is behind the awards, which have been recognising local sporting achievement for 14 years.

Other categories include Senior Club or Team of the Year, Junior Club or Team of the Year, Primary School Team of the Year and Secondary School Team of the Year.

The event will also celebrate the Sportsperson of the Year, as well as the Junior Sportsman and Junior Sportswoman of the Year categories.

People have until Friday December 31 to visit and get their nominations in to recognise outstanding sporting achievements made by our local and high profile sportspeople in 2016.

Cllr Mark Child, Swansea Council's Cabinet Member for Wellbeing and Healthy City, said: "Swansea continues to have a proud tradition of producing great sportspeople. It takes dedication, determination and hours of hard work to maintain the city of sport we know and love. 

"The judging panel is particularly keen to see more nominations put forward for people competing and volunteering at community level - whether it's the volunteer or the coach who puts in hour after hour behind the scenes, the team that's been the most successful through the year, or the sportsperson that has achieved the most in their sport.  Swansea is a city full of sporting champions, so let's ensure that local, community sport also gets the recognition it truly deserves."

Other categories include Performance Coach of the Year and Young Volunteer of the Year.

Winners for 2015 included Wales football manager Chris Coleman, who won the Performance Coach of the Year award, and Ospreys and Wales outside-half Dan Biggar, who was named Sportsperson of the Year. 

The Swansea Sports Awards ceremony will take place on Thursday March 16, 2017, at the Brangwyn Hall. 

Powered by GOSS iCM