Search site

BBC NOW: Berlioz - Symphonie Fantastique

Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique

BBC NOW: Berlioz - Symphonie Fantastique 1 berlioz 1080.jpg
5 May 2017
Brangwyn Hall

Tan Dun: Internet Symphony No.1, 'Eroica'
Rachmaninov: Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique

Xian Zhang - Conductor
Stephen Hough - Piano

Berlioz's Symphonie Fantastique is based on his own love life. The work, partly written under the influence of opium, has a hallucinatory, dream-like nature, moving through themes of ecstasy and despair with vivid fragments of tantrums, suicide and murder, concluding in a mad frenzy of sound. From one radical to another, Tan Dun's unconventional Internet Symphony was played by musicians via the internet, premiered on YouTube.

Tickets: £15 - £20

Buy Tickets Button

Telephone: 01792 475715
Powered by GOSS iCM