Search site
Cymraeg

Election timetable

A timetable highlighting the key dates for the UK Parliamentary General Election 2017.

Event

Date

Dissolution of Parliament

Wednesday 3 May

Receipt of writ

Thursday 4 May

Publication of notice of election

Monday 8 May

Delivery of nomination papers

Tuesday 9 May up to 4pm on Thursday 11May

Deadline for withdrawals of nomination

4pm on Thursday 11 May

Deadline for the notification of appointment of election agent

4pm on Thursday 11 May

Making objections to nomination papers

Between 10am and 12 noon on Thursday 11 May objections can be made to all delivered nominations

 

Between 12 noon and 5pm on Thursday 11 May objections can only be made to nominations delivered after 4pm on Wednesday 10 May

Publication of statement of persons nominated, including notice of poll and situation of polling stations

If no objections: at 5pm on Thursday 11 May

Objection(s) made: not before objection(s) are disposed of but not later than 4pm on Friday 12 May

Publication of first interim election notice of alteration

Thursday 11 May

Deadline for receiving applications for registration

Monday 22 May

Deadline for receiving new postal vote and postal proxy applications, and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes

5pm on Tuesday 23 May

Deadline for receiving new applications to vote by proxy (not postal proxy or emergency proxies)

5pm on Wednesday 31 May
Publication of second interim election notice of alteration

Between Friday 12 May and Wednesday 31 May (inclusive)

Publication of final election notice of alteration

Thursday 1 June

Deadline for notification of appointment  of polling and counting agents

Thursday 1 June

First date that electors can apply for a replacement for lost postal votes

Friday 2 June

Deadline for notification of appointment of sub agents

Tuesday 6 June

Polling day

7am to 10pm on Thursday 8 June
Last time for re-issue of spoilt or lost postal votes

5pm on Thursday 8 June

Deadline for emergency proxy applications

5pm on Thursday 8 June

Last time to alter the register due to clerical error or court appeal

9pm on Thursday 8 June

 

Powered by GOSS iCM